Instruction for Independence
Independence is on the ballot.

What does it look like?

Is this allowed?

In the words of the Electoral Commission: "Descriptions are identity marks that can be used instead of, or alongside, a party name depending on the election.

At Scottish Parliamentary elections, the rules differ for regional and constituency ballot papers. For regional ballot papers, a party must use their name and can also use a description alongside if they wish. For constituency ballot papers, a party must use their party name.

At all other elections in the UK, a party can use either a description or a party name on ballot papers – it is for parties to decide which they use in this case."

We asked them by email and uploaded the transcript.

What if the UK Government say no?

It's a theoretical possibility that a UK Government could simply ignore the Instruction for Independence however there are six pillars that ensure its success:

  • I – Westminster / Holyrood Elections are accepted in the UK – No domestic election has ever been contested by the Government or Parliament as illegitimate.
  • II – Westminster / Holyrood outcomes are recognised globally as democratically valid – The Electoral Commission validated results are trusted internationally as fair, democratic, and representative.
  • III – Holyrood can decide its own election timetable – it is able to to ask the people for their democratic expression at any time.
  • IV – Scotland are members of the privy council – the current and former First Minsters serve as advisors to the King on matters of constitution and state.
  • V - The media serve as the public guardian - and would highlight the denial of democracy, should a plurality of votes be achieved.

Precedent is already set.

““It is agreed that nothing in this report prevents Scotland becoming an independent country in the future should the people of Scotland so choose” – The Smith Commission

Countries to vote on leaving Britain: Bahrain, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brunei, Dominica, Eswatini, Fiji, Granada, India, Israel, Jamaica, Kiribati, Lesotho, Mauritius, Nauru, Nigeria, Qatar, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sudan, Tanganyika, Bahamas, Gambia, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, UAE, Zambia, Australia, Canada, Newfoundland, South Africa, New Zealand.

Britain has negotiated 100% of the time, eventually.

A project by ViveEcosse! 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿